Collecting nominations for X-Mormon of the Year 2011!!!

Which X-Mormon had the biggest impact in 2011?? Remember that — as always — the “X” is a variable that can stand for any type of non-traditional Mormon (eg. liberal-Mormon, New Order Mormon, etc.) — it’s not just for “ex” or former Mormons!!

Here are some choices to start with:

Your ideas?

p.s. I’m really sorry about the scheduling confusion, not even getting to the nominations until late February!! But I hope you all can remember 2011 well enough to join in this award. :)

Views: 2262


  1. 1
    Stephanie says:

    Although he is an active member, I’m going to nominate Bishop Kevin Kloosterman. He might be an active Mormon bishop, but he is nothing typical or traditional.


  2. 2
    michelle says:

    Hands Down John Dehlin. I would also nominate John Larsen.


  3. 3
    chanson says:

    Thanks — good choices — keep ‘em coming!! I’ll probably put up the poll this Saturday.


  4. 4
    Jan says:

    Joanna Brooks


  5. 5
    Angela says:

    I nominate Brent Beal (Mr. Cheap Seats) for his insightful and well-written post, “Half a Church”


  6. 6
    aerin says:

    Heather Armstrong – dooce
    Dustin Lance Black – J. Edgar (He won the Oscar for the screenplay for “Milk”)

    I think the guys who wrote/directed “yo gabba gabba” (a kids’ show) were mormon/former mormon, but I can’t confirm that.

    Can’t think of other liberal, former or new order mormons who were nationally/internationally famous in 2011 off the top of my head.


  7. 7
    chanson says:

    Great choices, keep ‘em coming!! :D


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

  • Recent Comments

  • MSP TV

    Sisters in Zion:
  • EXMO Radio

    Mormon Stories interviews Alison Udall of Mormon Spectrum!!
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

  • Awards

    Lists of Brodie award winners:

    X-Mormon of the Year 2013: Kate Kelly

    X-Mormon of the Year 2013: J. Seth Anderson and Michael Ferguson

    X-Mormon of the Year 2012: David Twede

    X-Mormon of the Year 2011: Joanna Brooks

    X-Mormon of the Year 2010: Monica Bielanko

    X-Mormon of the Year 2009: Walter Kirn

  • Other Cool Sites!

  • Podcasts and Video Channels